Prof. Jan W. Casselman


Medical formation 6 months at the University of Pretoria in the Republic of South Africa, rest at the University of Leuven, Belgium, became M.D. in 1983. Received his Radiological certificate in Leuven in 1988, did fellowships MR and Head/Neck Radiology in Los Angeles at the UCLA (Prof. Hanafee) and in Florida at Gainesville University (Prof. Mancuso). Became a PhD in 1994 at the University of Ghent, Belgium, with a thesis on imaging of the inner ear. Became responsible for MR and Head/Neck imaging and Neuroradiology at the AZ St-Jan Brugge hospital in 1989. Was nominated consultant radiologist at the St.-Augustinus hospital in Antwerp in 1999. Was president of the European Society of Head and Neck Radiology (ESHNR) in the period 1999-2002. Was appointed chairman of the department of radiology and medical imaging of the AZ St.-Jan AV Hospital in Brugge in 2004. Became Academic “stagementor” (in 2005) and Academic Consultant (in 2007) of the university of Ghent, received the “new” European Certificate in Neuroradiology in 2006 and in Head and Neck Radiology in 2012. Is section editor of “Neuroradiology” since 2006 and associate editor Head and Neck Imaging for “Radiology” since 2013. He is author or co-author of 277 scientific publications, has given 1250 scientific presentations in more than 50 different countries. Gave the Honorary “James Bull Lecture” in Harrogate in 2001 and “Jongkees Lecture” in Amsterdam in 2016. Received: “Summa cum laude” award at the ASNR in Atlanta in 2000 (CD on cranial nerves), Honorary corresponding membership of the German Society of Skull Base Surgery in Fulda in 2005, Honorary membership of the Royal Belgian Society for Ear, Nose, Throat, Head and Neck Surgery in Antwerp in 2008, Honorary membership of the Spanish Society of Otorhinolaryngology and Head and Neck Surgery in Sevilla 2016. He was appointed Guest-Professor in Radiology at the University of Ghent in 2011 and Academic Consultant of the University of Leuven in 2015. Received the “Gold Medal – Lifetime achievement” award of the ESHNR in London, 2018. Is Vice-President of the Erasmus Verein since 2021.